Dog days of Summer

Well, it seems that my Muse is a part-time worker.  I’m sorry for the hiatus, but I just couldn’t get motivated to write about much this past week or two.  Mostly it’s because I feel like I’ve exhausted the “weeds” theme and on a daily basis that is all I’m doing–cutting weeds.

However, there have been a couple days where we did something a little bit different, so let’s talk about those!  About a week and a half ago we took a couple of days and worked cutting bamboo.  In a couple weeks there is this 3-day concert happening here on Sado called The Earth Celebration.  All three days there is a Harbor Market and we’ll be selling our rice and making onigiri.  Most sellers in the market use those plastic/metal portable booths for their store.  But last year a friend of mine here on Sado made a group of booths out of bamboo, and we decided to do it again this year.  So, for two days we cut down bamboo and measured and cut enough pieces to make a line of 4 booths.

The guy you see in the yellow in the above picture is named Enrique.  He lives here on Sado and is a bamboo artist (and Capoeira teacher).  He’s the mastermind behind this project, and if you come to the EC, be sure to check out his booth where you can buy some of his bamboo crafts.

The other interesting thing that we did recently is head over to mainland Niigata to sell our rice at a local festival.  A couple months ago a store owner approached Nabe about selling Daruma An rice at their store, Najira, which sells Niigata brand sakes and rice.  So the owners called Nabe up a couple weeks ago and asked if we’d like to come over for a local festival in the town where their store is and sell our rice in person.  Um…yes, please.  So we did.  We brought over about 20 kilos of rice in 2 kilo bags and then cooked up a few cups of rice to give out to passers-by as samples.  Sold about 3 bags, gave out a bunch of fliers, and met a lot of nice folks.  Good times.

We had a slide-show running on the computer with pictures from when we planted the organic fields and were also selling some of Enrique’s bamboo crafts as well.  You’ll notice my nice sign advertising our Twitter feed…not a single person looked at it.  I read that Twitter was becoming popular over here, but I guess not in Niigata.  One of my wife’s friends stopped by to buy some rice and pose for a picture (hello, Keiko, if you’re reading this!):

So, other than the weeding, that is what I’ve been up to the past couple of weeks.  And, yes, I know I’m still due a post about peanut-butter onigiri.  I haven’t forgot.  I will do it.  I swear.

Leave a Reply

