Coming to the End of My Blog’s Winter Hibernation

Ooof!  I don’t even want to look at the post date of my last entry.  And if I tell you all Happy New Year, it makes it seem even longer ago!  But I guess I should just own my lack of blog-ability and face facts.  Happy New Year!  🙂

A couple weeks after my last entry I went back to the States for about 3 weeks to spend the Holidays with the fam.  That was a blast and I was able to see a lot of my old high school friends as well.  It was my first time back during the Holidays in about 8 years.  The last New Years I spent in the States was 2001!  Here’s a couple picture highlights of the trip:

That first image is of my niece, Mackenzie Jane Downs.  She is almost 2 years old and this trip was the first time I got to meet her.  She’s a cutie-pie.  She’s in her bear outfit there, but she’s much cuter when she puts on her Baby Gaga outfit.  The second picture is of an Atlanta Thrashers game I went to…thanks Jamie for the tickets.  Watching hockey while I was back made me realize that that is one of the biggest things I miss about being in the US.  Japan just isn’t that into ice hockey.  The last pick is Whirlyball.  Think lacrosse mixed with basketball mixed with bumper-cars.  Yes, it’s that awesome!

Once I got back, I didn’t have too much farming to do, seeing as how it’s the middle of the winter.  But I have kept myself busy with odds and ends around the island:

About once a week, I have been loaned out to a friend of Nabe’s who grows blueberries.  As loyal readers already know, Nabe and I are thinking about expanding our business to start growing blueberries along with rice.  Miyuki, Nabe’s friend, started growing blueberries about 3 or so years ago and has been giving us pointers on how to get started.  And since during the winter there isn’t too much for a rice farmer to do, I’ve been helping her out with the blueberries.

During the other days of the week I’m usually over at Nabe’s house playing carpenter.  Nabe wants to build a room on the second floor of his naya as a place where WWOOFers and HelpXers can stay when they’re visiting.  The second floor of the naya was pretty bare so we’ve had a lot of work to do, but it’s coming along nicely as you can see in the picture.

I’ve still got about 3 or 4 weeks of this until we start getting ready for the planting season.

Leave a Reply

