Two Weeks In

Well, I’ve been doing this for two weeks now. I know, I know, it’s not that big of a milestone, but for me doing a blog? In these two weeks I’ve put in more entries than I did the previous 4 years here.

The purpose of this, as you might remember from such a short time ago, was to try and create a habit of writing. That particular aspect still has bit of work to go. Of these last 10 entries, there have been quite a few where I sat down in front of that blank screen and sighed, trying to come up with some topic to write about where I could squeeze out a couple hundred words. It hasn’t become second nature.

But, after such a short time, it shouldn’t have. I mean two weeks is nothing.

Which leads us to a flaw in my personality that I’ve long known of, but have never been able to figure out a solution to: I quit on things way way too early and get unreasonably discouraged at the most minor of setbacks.

I have no idea where this comes from. I try to think back to when I was a kid, combing my memories for that instance where “zap!” you don’t preserver, but I can’t find it. I won’t. Memories are unreliable things, and for something like this it’s not gonna be one thing from when I was young, but rather a bunch of little things that lead to conditioning.

I’m aware of it, so I guess that counts for a little. And I’m still doing this little writing experiment even though tonight was definitely one of those nights where I stared at the screens in a bit of despair for a couple minutes before putting fingers to keys. That counts for a little as well. *raises glass* To little things!

Leave a Reply

