Collections and Self Reflections

One of the things I’ve always wanted to do with a blog is use it as a repository of my reflections on things. That sounds stupid. I am often thinking about my different views on things, like politics or religion or whatever, and I might come to some conclusion based on maybe something I read on the subject or just self reflection, but I never write any of it down, so I feel like I end up kind of going over the same things all the time. That’s not bad, because you can refine your thoughts on something like that, but if it’s not written down it’s like carving the same sculpture over and over from new pieces of stone. It’s much easier to work on a piece that maybe didn’t start out so good and turn it into a final product rather than try to carve the perfect piece all in one go. I don’t know if that makes sense.

That said, I often feel kind of pretentious sitting down and typing out a little missive about why I support this or don’t believe in that, when a lot of people way smarter than I have probably made my point in a more elegant manner at some point.

Still, this blog is mostly just for me anyway (the states and page views prove it), so who cares, right?

I’m cheating on tonight’s blog post a bit. I’d planned on talking about my feelings on American football based on an article on concussions that one of my friends linked to me earlier today, but I chickened out in writing about it (see one of the previous posts about me using the “I’m thinking about it” method of procrastination). Tomorrow, right? 😀

Leave a Reply

